Main Menu

ICSE 2013


Score 2013 in San Francisco

SCORE 2013 will be held as part of ICSE 2013 in San Francisco.

The SCORE Contest is aimed at promoting and fostering software engineering in universities worldwide. Teams from all over the world participate in a competition for students from undergraduate to master's level. Each team will develop a system chosen from a list and monitored by a committee member. The final deliverable is a report and an accompanying system. Evaluation will based on the quality of all aspects of the software engineering process followed, as well as the outcome. In order to accommodate a wide range of academic calendars, the SCORE 2013 Contest will run from July 2012 to January 2013. Finalist teams will be invited to ICSE 2013 in San Francisco.

The SCORE'13 Winner

Among the three finalist teams, the program committee selected the overal winner of SCORE'13:

Branimir Lochert (1), Alessandro Sisto (2), Milan Čop (1), Daniele Rogora (2), Katarina Sekula (1), Javier Hualpa (2). (1) University of Zagreb, Croatia, and (2) Politecnico di Milano, Italy. Travel n Study.

Congratulations! You can find some pictures of the awards ceremony on the ICSE 2013 Facebook page.

The following three teams were selected as finalists. Representatives of these teams have been invited to present a poster and give a tool demo at ICSE in San Francisco. Each team received a free registration for the main conference and up to 2000 dollar travel support.

  • Marcel Hahn, Alexander Jahl, Tobias Röttger and Kassem Tohme. University of Kassel, Germany. TySON - Truck Spot Occupancy Navigator.
  • Branimir Lochert (1), Alessandro Sisto (2), Milan Čop (1), Daniele Rogora (2), Katarina Sekula (1), Javier Hualpa (2). (1) University of Zagreb, Croatia, and (2) Politecnico di Milano, Italy. Travel n Study.
  • Dan Han, Jiangwei Yu, Xingkai Li and Haiming Wang. University of Alberta, Canada. pTrack: A Software System of Integrating Daily Footprints on Multiple Social Network Systems.

SCORE'13 Program of Events

The finalists will give no formal presentation this year. Instead, there will be a poster session with live demos. This session will take place during the Wednesday afternoon coffee break (15:30-16:00) of ICSE in the Market St. Foyer. The ICSE awards session is on Friday, starting at 16:00. There, we will acknowledge the finalists and announce the winner of SCORE'13.


The SCORE'13 contest is organized by:

  • Harald Gall, University of Zurich (co-chair)
  • Mark Grechanik, University of Illinois-Chicago (co-chair)
  • Michael Würsch from the University of Zurich (organizing co-chair)

Program Committee

The program committee proposes projects, sets rules and policies, reviews project results, and selects finalists for SCORE 2013 in San Francisco. It is a substantial amount of work over a substantial period of time, and we are grateful to these leading researchers, teachers, and practitioners for volunteering their effort.

  • Alberto Bachelli, University of Lugano
  • Earl Barr, University College London
  • Domenico Bianculli, University of Lugano
  • Yuriy Brun, University of Massachusetts
  • James Clause, University of Delaware
  • Ivica Crnkovic, Mälardalen University
  • Christoph Csallner, University of Texas at Arlington
  • Elisabetta Di Nitto, Politecnico di Milano
  • Massimiliano Di Penta, University of Sannio
  • Thomas Fritz, University of Zurich
  • Giacomo Ghezzi, University of Zurich
  • Emanuel Giger, University of Zurich
  • Alessandra Gorla, University of Lugano
  • Anja Guzzi, Delft University of Technology
  • William G.J. Halfond, University of Southern California
  • Felienne Hermans, Delft University of Technology
  • Christian Kästner, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Iman Keivanloo, Concordia University
  • Ahmed Lamkanfi, University of Antwerp
  • Steven Lauterburg, University of Illinois
  • Timothy Lethbridge, University of Ottawa
  • Dino Mandrioli, Politecnico di Milano
  • Collin Mcmillan, University of Notre Dame
  • Liliana Pasquale, Irish Software Engineering Research Centre
  • Denys Poshyvanyk, The College of William and Mary
  • Ita Richardson, University of Limerick
  • Romain Robbes, Universidad de Chile
  • Brian Robinson, ABB
  • Matteo Rossi, Politecnico di Milano
  • Raul Santelices, University of Notre Dame
  • Norbert Seyff, University of Zurich
  • Eli Tilevich, Virginia Tech
  • Nikolai Tillmann, Microsoft Research
  • Christoph Treude, University of Victoria
  • Annie T.T. Ying, McGill University
  • Michal Young, University of Oregon